Uncategorized

We Mermaid for Each Other (Lawn Fawn)

Hello there!  Today I’m sharing a card I made for Lawnscaping challenge with my new stamp set from Lawn Fawn, “Mermaid For You”.

Here is my card:

20160524_085306-1

The first thing I did was stamped the rock  from the stamp set  2x on the masking paper and cut it out.  I used that to create a bigger rock for the mermaid and the merman to sit on.  Any missing lines I drew it in with my Momento dual marker that is copic friendly.

 

 

Then I took the Lawn Fawn Largest stitch die and and used my sizzix  big shot to cut out 2 panels of Bristol paper.  Originally I had the idea to the card horizontally so that I can have more room.   I was going to use other sea animals looking up and out of the water surrounding the rock. But I changed my mind and did it vertically to keep the focus on the two main characters.

20160523_200525-1

I took one of the panels and cut out 2 waves using  lawn fawn stitched hillside border.

20160523_201305-1

Then I went back to my masking paper and cut out a circle to do some distress ink blending to create the sun and the background.

Next I worked on ink blending the waves and spritzed  it with  some water after.  When dried I added the sentiment on the bottom layer of the wave.

20160523_220249-1

I decided to add some stars to the background so I used embossing pen and drew the stars in, added pearl embossing powder and set it with my heat gun.  This was where I made my biggest mistake, I mistook pearl for white so I had to use my white gelly pen to go over it.  Lastly I colored in the characters with copic markers and gave them black and red hair because I thought it would pop against the yellow background.  I added glitter and wink of stella to finish it off. The best part of  making this card was seeing my vision come to life.   I think that is the most rewarding part of card making for me.

Thank you so much for visiting!!!

Leave a Reply

